The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris (2016)

The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris (2016)

Rating: 8.3/10 from 7 users
Runtime: 111 min
Genre: Music | 2016 | n/A

Earle joined several of those lucky writers, along with a long list of collaborators, friends and disciples at the event, billed The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris: An All-Star Concert Celebration. Held at DAR Constitution Hall in Washington, D.C., the show boasted a set-list spanning four decades of Harris' iconic catalog. Lucinda Williams sang "Hickory Wind," a 1974 Gram Parsons hit later recorded by Harris, who toured in Parsons' band and recorded several albums with the late singer. Another frequent duet partner, Rodney Crowell sang "You're Still on My Mind" - a song he first heard Harris sing when she was playing coffee shops in Washington back in the early Seventies. Vince Gill and Sheryl Crow teamed for "Two More Bottles of Wine," while Shawn Colvin, Patty Griffin and Conor Oberst harmonized on "The Pearl." All were backed by a house band of country greats: Buddy Miller, Don Was, Sam Bush, Audley Freed, Fred Eltringham, Matt Rollings, Greg Leisz and Sara Watkins. Other artists on the bill included Lee Ann Womack, Mary Chapin Carpenter, Chris Coleman, Chris Hillman, Iron & Wine, Alison Krauss, Kris Kristofferson, Daniel Lanois, Martina McBride, the Milk Carton Kids, Herb Pedersen, Shovels & Rope, Mavis Staples, John Starling, Trampled by Turtles, Holly Williams and Emmylou Harris herself, who joined friends on several tunes. Watch her sing "Boulder to Birmingham" with the entire cast below. This once-in-a-lifetime show was recorded for a live album and DVD, which will be released November 11th via Rounder Records. Also available via Blu-Ray and several combo packs, The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris: An All-Star Concert Celebration was created and produced by Blackbird Presents. Written by Rounder Records

The Life & Songs of Emmylou Harris

Director: Justin Kreutzmann

Writer: n/A

Company: Blackbird Presents

Awards: n/A

Aspect Ratio: n/A

Country: United States

Creator: n/A

Location: Constitution Hall - 1776 D Street NW, Washington, District of Columbia, USA


Seasons: n/A

Sound Mix: n/A

Tagline: n/A

User Review: 1

Writer: n/A

Cast: Mary Chapin Carpenter / Chris Coleman / Shawn Colvin / Sheryl Crow / Rodney Crowell / Steve Earle / Vince Gill / Emmylou Harris / Chris Hillman / Alison Krauss / Kris Kristofferson / Daniel Lanois / Martina McBride / Buddy Miller / Conor Oberst / Herb Pedersen / Mavis Staples / Lucinda Williams / Lee Ann Womack

Language: English

01. One Of These Days - Buddy Miller
02. Will The Circle Be Unbroken - Mavis Staples
03. Red Dirt Girl - Shawn Colvin
04. Michelangelo - The Milk Carton Kids
05. Wheels - Chris Hillman & Herb Pedersen
06. Orphan Girl - Holly Williams & Chris Coleman
07. Bluebird Wine - Trampled By Turtles
08. Hickory Wind - Lucinda Williams
09. You're Still On My Mind - Rodney Crowell
10. Born To Run - Lee Ann Womack
11. When We're Gone, Long Gone - John Starling & Emmylou Harris
12. Blackhawk - Daniel Lanois & Emmylou Harris
13. Wrecking Ball- Iron & Wine, Daniel Lanois
14. Leaving Louisiana In The Broad Daylight - Shovels & Rope
15. All The Roadrunning - Mary Chapin Carpenter & Vince Gill
16. The Pearl - Conor Oberst, Shawn Colvin & Patty Griffin
17. When I Stop Dreaming - Martina McBride
18. Prayer In Open D - Patty Griffin
19. Pancho And Lefty - Steve Earle, Lee Ann Womack & Herb Pedersen
20. Together Again - Vince Gill
21. Two More Bottles of Wine - Sheryl Crow, Vince Gill
22. Loving Her Was Easier (Than Anything I'll Ever Do Again) - Kris Kristofferson
23. Till I Gain Control Again - Alison Krauss
24. Cash On The Barrelhead - Alison Krauss
25. Boulder To Birmingham - Emmylou Harris (with Full Ensemble)
Bonus Performances:
26. Sin City - Steve Earle
27. Darkest Hour Is Just Before Dawn - Sara Watkins